Champignons 2.jpeg

Mushrooms

Inventory of the diversity of uses of fungi in encountered cultures. Analysis of the potential for integrating mycorrhizae into agricultural systems.

Céline is interested in existing and potential beneficial relationships between humans and fungi. She wants to identify local customs and uses of mushrooms. On the other hand, she wants to assess the effectiveness of agricultural practices enhancing mycorrhizal development to overcome local agricultural challenges.

Mycology

 

Census - Place in systems - Vulgarization

seadLOGO NOIR sans texte.png

Fungi are keystone species, which contribute in many ways to ecosystems functioning.  According to Paul Stamets "without fungi, all ecosystems would fail". All over the world, fungi are used by humans for a variety of purposes. In some cases, they occupy an essential place in the life of communities. In others, their importance, services and even identity are completely unrecognized by the population. Furthermore, mycorrhizal symbioses plays an essential role in the many challenges the world faces today, i.e. a growing population to feed, polluted air and soils. Indeed, they are key players in carbon sequestration, nutrient cycling and supply for plants, plant biodiversity and more generally in natural and agricultural ecosystems productivity.

 

To inform about the importance of fungi and mycorrhizae in our ecosystems and the possibilities of beneficial cooperation they have to offer, Céline wishes to share testimonies and initiate a reflection on their place in our environment.

 

To this end, Céline will identify local customs and uses of mushrooms throughout the journey. On the other hand, she will question farmers on their knowledge of mycorrhizae as well as their interests and reluctances to adopt agricultural practices favoring their growth. At the same time, she will estimate the mycorrhizal potential of soils through observations of agricultural practices, soil types, cultivated species and other factors of influence.

With this information, a reflection will be generated on how fungi could locally contribute to food security. This, with a focus on the potential effectiveness of integrating mycorrhizae to overcome local agricultural problems such as drought or low bioavailability of nutrients.

The results of this reflection will be shared locally and with the general public through discussion sessions, participatory workshops, content in the travel portfolio, podcasts and musical compositions.

Champignons 2.jpeg

Champignons

Recensement de la diversité d’utilisations de champignons dans les cultures rencontrées. Analyse du potentiel d’intégration des mycorhizes dans les systèmes agricoles.

Céline s’intéresse aux relations bénéfiques existantes et potentielles entre humains et champignons. Elle veut recenser les eus, coutumes et utilisations locales de champignons. D’autre part, elle veut évaluer l’efficacité de pratiques agricoles favorisant le développement mycorhizien pour pallier à des défis agricoles locaux.

Champignons

 

Recensement - Place dans les systèmes - Vulgarisation

seadLOGO NOIR sans texte.png

Les champignons sont des espèces clés, qui contribuent de nombreuses manières au fonctionnement des écosystèmes. Selon Paul Stamets, "sans les champignons, tous les écosystèmes échoueraient". Partout dans le monde, les champignons sont utilisés par l’humain à des fins diverses. Dans certains cas, ils occupent une place essentielle dans la vie des communautés. Dans d’autres, leur importance, services et même identité est complètement méconnue de la population. Plus précisément, les symbioses mycorhiziennes jouent un rôle essentiel dans les nombreux défis auxquels le monde est confronté aujourd'hui, à savoir une population croissante à nourrir, un air et des sols pollués. En effet, elles sont des acteurs clés dans la séquestration du carbone, le cycle et l’approvisionnement de nutriments aux plantes, la biodiversité végétale et la productivité des écosystèmes naturels et agricoles.

 

Pour informer de l’importance des champignons et mycorhizes dans nos écosystèmes et des possibilités de coopérations bénéfiques qu’ils ont à offrir, Céline souhaite partager des témoignages et initier une réflexion sur leur intégration dans notre environnement.

 

Dans ce but, Céline recensera les eus, coutumes et utilisations locales des champignons tout le long du trajet. D’autre part, elle interrogera des agriculteurs sur leur connaissance des mycorhizes ainsi que leurs intérêts et réticences à l’adoption de pratiques agricoles favorisant ces derniers. Parallèlement, elle estimera le potentiel mycorhizien des sols au travers de connaissances sur les pratiques agricoles, les types de sols, les espèces cultivées et d’autres facteurs influents.

Avec ces informations, une réflexion sera engendrée sur la manière dont les champignons pourraient contribuer localement à la sécurité alimentaire. Ce, avec un accent mis sur l’efficacité potentielle d’intégration des mycorhizes  pour pallier à des problèmes agricoles locaux tels que la sécheresse ou la faible biodisponibilité des nutriments.

Les résultats de cette réflexion seront partagés localement et au grand public au travers de séances de discussions, d’ateliers participatifs, de contenu dans le portfolio de voyage, les podcasts et les compositions musicales.