IMG_0423_edited.jpg

Agriculture

& Climate

How agriculture integrates human systems and a changing environment.

Matthieu explores how subsistence farming has adapted to climate change. He wants to observe, identify and reflect on local virtuous practices that can be used to strengthen sustainability and resilience of rural communities in the fields of water and soil management.

Sustainable innovations in subsistence agriculture

 

Census - Adoption influencing factors - Integration into local conditions

seadLOGO NOIR sans texte.png

Our century is the scene of a major challenge for agriculture. We remain perplexed by the need to feed a growing population and to grow independent of those industrial practices which, as we know today, destroy our soils, kill our ecosystems and produce food of often mixed quality.

The competitiveness of small agricultural systems against intensive monoculture rests on their capacity to grow in resilience, sustainability and efficiency in natural resources management. When it come to identifying how to develop along these lines, we realize it varies subtly from one region to the next, depending on a series of factors.

Across Atlantic Europe, West Africa, northern South America, Central America and the West Indies; Matthieu sets out to meet small conventional farmers, traditional extensive farmers and small farmers with low endowments to try to understand these factors. Each region will be analyzed according to its climatic, geophysical, cultural and political influences and by identifying existing sustainable water and soil management practices. His goal is also, through systemic reflection, fieldwork and discussions, to identify relevant practices and to determine how to integrate them into existing systems to help develop sustainability and resilience.

The dissemination of these ideas will happen in two ways. The first is by organizing workshops locally. The objective of these workshops is to engage and support rural communities in the process of thinking about why and how to adapt their land and water management to strengthen sustainability and resilience.

The second will be mediatic and will feed SEAD's travel portfolio. This, to raise the general public's awareness of the reality of subsistence in rural areas and the impact of current climate and societal changes. SEAD's media community will be invited to participate in the crew's reflection process.

IMG_1859
IMG_1502
IMG_0319
IMG_0297
IMG_1861
IMG_1473

Images of Matthieu's thesis work in the Solomon Islands. You can access his work on Academia.edu

IMG_0423_edited.jpg

Agriculture

& Climat

Intégration de l'agriculture dans les systèmes humains et dans un environnement qui change.

Matthieu part à la découverte de la manière dont l'agriculture de subsistence s'est adaptée au changement climatique. Il veut observer, recenser et réfléchir aux pratiques vertueuses locales pour renforcer la durabilité et la résilience de communautés rurales dans les domaines de la gestion de l'eau et du sol.

Innovations durables en agriculture de subsistence 

 

Recensement- Facteurs d'influence d'adoption - Intégration aux conditions locales

seadLOGO NOIR sans texte.png

Notre siècle est la scène d'un challenge majeur pour l'agriculture. Nous restons perplexes face à la nécessité de nourrir une population croissante et de devenir indépendants de ces pratiques industrielles qui, on le sait aujourd'hui, ravagent nos sols, tuent nos écosystèmes et produisent une nourriture d'une qualité souvent mitigée. 

La compétitivité de petits systèmes agricoles face à la monoculture intensive repose sur leur capacité à grandir en résilience, en durabilité et en efficacité de gestion des ressources naturelles. Toute une série de facteurs influence la manière dont une région peut évoluer selon ces lignes directrices. 

A travers l'Europe atlantique, l'Afrique de l'Ouest, le nord de l'Amérique du Sud, l'Amérique centrale et les Antilles;  Matthieu part à la rencontre de petits agriculteurs conventionnels, d'agriculteurs extensifs traditionnels et de petits agriculteurs à faible dotation pour tenter de comprendre ces facteurs. Chaque région sera analysée selon ses influences climatiques, géophysiques, culturelles et politiques pour recenser les pratiques durables de gestion de l'eau et du sol existantes. Son but est également, au travers de réflexion systémiques, de prélèvements de terrain et de discussions, d'identifier des pratiques appropriées et de concevoir comment les intégrer aux systèmes existants.

La dissémination de ces idées se fera sous deux formes. La première est la forme d'ateliers organisés localement. L'objectif de ces ateliers est d'engager et accompagner les communautés rurales dans une réflexion sur la raison et la manière d'adapter leur gestion du sol et de l'eau pour renforcer durabilité et résilience.

La deuxième sera médiatique et alimentera le portfolio de voyage de SEAD. Ce, pour sensibiliser le grand public à la réalité de la subsistance en milieu rural et de l'impact du changement climatique et sociétal actuel. La communauté médiatique de SEAD sera invitée à participer au processus de réflexion de l'équipage.

IMG_1859
IMG_1502
IMG_0319
IMG_0297
IMG_1861
IMG_1473

Des images du travail de mémoire de Matthieu aux Iles Salomon. Vous pouvez accéder à son travail sur Academia.edu