Marine bioacoustics

& music

An active listening of the ocean transmitted to communities through musical pieces to awaken empathy for our oceans.

Marie-Kell uses her violin as a means to relay on land  the beauties of the underwater world. Vocalizations of marine mammals will be recorded during the trip in key marine conservation locations and biodiversity hotspots. Whether discoveries are beautiful or disastrous, they will be shared through musical gatherings, putting together human and animal music. 

 

Inventory of life in the ocean & exchange of musical knowledge

Marine bioacoustics - animal music - human music

seadLOGO NOIR sans texte.png

The ocean has long been considered an infinite reservoir of life and resources. Today, overfishing, plastic pollution, sound pollution but more generally the attitude of humans towards these ecosystems, have pushed the oceans into critical states. Numbers are horrifying, a true ecocide is taking place. At the top of this trophic chain, large marine mammals are among the most affected. Beyond their crucial role in the proper functioning of ecosystems, they are symbols of gardians of the oceans in our collective imaginary. The threat hanging over them calls us to action: we must evolve in our relationship with nature and sea. Now.

During its navigation, SEAD will set sail, between two stops on land, in direction of biodiversity hotspots . In order to collect as much evidence and ideas as possible, Marie-Kell will observe encountered mammals

populations, on the one hand by recording the vocalizations of these animals, and on the other hand by visual observation. Collected data will be analyzed and compared to the historical data of the place.

Its goal will be to draw a portrait of the soundscape of the marine environment, to then share it with the inhabitants of the nearest continent. Led by the intrigue of the relationship rural communities individuals have with the great creatures of the oceans, discussions will lead to an exchange of ideas accompanied by musical compositions that will combine music and cultural representations. This innovation of integrating animal music into musical moments aims to awaken a public engagement towards nature. Musicians from the communities will be invited to bring their musical knowledge to create compositions with Marie-Kell and the crew.

The dissemination of these ideas and their creation will take place in the form of workshops, where musicians will meet not only to share the music but also ancestral beliefs and practices linked to the creatures of the ocean.

Discover Marie-Kell's work via this video, produced with Sailing Hirondelle!

Bioacoustique marine & musique

Une écoute active d'écosystèmes marins transmise aux communautés via un lien musical pour éveiller l’empathie pour nos océans.

Marie-Kell utilise son violon comme moyen pour relayer et partager la beauté du monde sous-marin sur terre. Les vocalisations des mammifères marins seront enregistrées pendant le voyage dans des endroits clés de conservation marine et des hotspots de biodiversité. Que les découvertes soient belles ou désastreuses, elles seront partagées à travers des rassemblements musicaux, fusionnant musique humaine et musique animale. 

 

Recensement de la vie dans l’océan & échange de connaissances musicales

Bioacoustique marine – musique animale – musique humaine

seadLOGO NOIR sans texte.png

L'océan a longtemps été considéré comme un réservoir infini de vie et de ressources. Aujourd'hui, la surpêche, la pollution plastique, la pollution sonore mais plus généralement l'attitude de l'humain envers ces écosystèmes, ont poussé les océans dans des états critiques. Les chiffres sont horrifiants, c'est un véritable écocide qui a lieu. En haut de cette chaine trophique, les grands mammifères marins sont parmi les plus touchés. Au-delà de leur rôle crucial dans le bon fonctionnement de l'écosystème, ils sont les gardiens de l'océan dans l'imaginaire collectif. La menace qui pèse sur eux nous appelle à agir: il nous faut évoluer dans notre relation à la nature et à la mer. Maintenant.

Durant sa navigation, SEAD mettra le cap sur des hotspots de diversité entre deux haltes à terre.  Afin de collecter autant de preuves et d’idées possible, Marie-Kell observera les populations de mammifères rencontrés, d’une part via l’enregistrement des vocalisations de ces animaux, et d’autre part par observation visuelle. Ces données récoltées seront analysées et comparées aux données historiques de l’endroit.

Son but sera de dresser un portrait du paysage sonore de l’environnement marin, pour ensuite le partager avec les habitants du continent le plus proche. Mené par l’intrigue de la relation qu’ont les individus des communautés rurales avec les grandes créatures des océans, des discussions seront motrices d’un échange d’idées accompagné de compositions musicales combinant les musiques et les représentations culturelles. Cette innovation d’intégrer la musique animale dans des moments musicaux a pour but d’éveiller un engagement public vis-à-vis de la nature. Les musiciens des communautés seront invités à apporter leur connaissance musicale pour créer des compositions avec Marie-Kell et l’équipage.

La dissémination de ces idées et leur création se passeront sous forme d’ateliers, où les musiciens se retrouveront non seulement pour partager la musique mais aussi les croyances et les pratiques ancestrales liées aux créatures de l’océan.

Découvrez le travail de Marie-Kell au travers de cette vidéo réalisée avec Sailing Hirondelle: